C G Krishnadas Nair


BTech, PhD, FINAE, F Aero SOC,

F Royal Aero Society

Born : August 17, 1941

Education : B.Tech (1964) IIT Chennai,
Master (1966) & PhD (1968) in Engg., University of Sask, Canada
Fellow -Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE)
Fellow -Aeronautical Society of India

Career Summary:
 Former Chairman – Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd.,
 Past President – Aeronautical Society of India
 Past President – Indian Institute of Metals
 Former Vice Chancellor – MATS University Raipur, Jhatisgarh
 Chairman, Governing Council –International Institute for Aerospace Engineering Management (IIAEM)
 Chancellor – Jain University, Bangalore
 Hony. President – Society of Indian Aerospace Technologies & Industries (SIATI)

Transformed HAL into a globally competent aerospace industry through long term strategic plan with strong R&D, diversification, export, industry academy interaction and work culture based on ethics and team work. Led design and development of Advanced Light Helicopter, new Jet trainer, Light Armed Helicopter, and initiated design of High Altitude Helicopter, Light Armed Helicopter, Multi Role Transport Aircraft & Advanced aerospace equipment’s.

Founded Society of Indian Aerospace Technologies & Industries (SIATI), with a mission to develop Private Sector Industries, particularly SMEs as R&D and Innovation Partners for aerospace & defense Industry, and for growth through International Co-operation.

Served as Vice-Chancellor of MATS University and Chairman/Member Governing Council of a number of engineering colleges and visiting professor including, INAEAICTE distinguished visiting professor at IIT, Chennai. Since May 2008 till 2011, he was the Managing Director of Cochin International Airport Ltd, and Chairman of Cochin International Airport Services Pvt. Ltd. Served as the Chairperson, Board of Governors, National Institute of Technology, Calicut (NITC), Chancellor, Jain University, Bangalore and Chairman, Governing Council, International Institute for Aerospace Engineering & Management (IIAEM), Bangalore.

Publications : He has authored /co-authored 21 books in Engineering Technology and Management; published over 200 research & technology and Management papers in National and International journals.

Awards : Distinguished IIT Alumnus Award (1996), Outstanding Aerospace Personality Award for the decade by Indian Aviation for outstanding contributions to the Indian Aerospace Industry (2011). Centenary Aviation Award for outstanding personalities in the field of Aviation during the century (2010), INAE Life Time Achievement Award (2007) in the field of Engineering from the Indian National Academy of Engineering, IIM Platinum Award (2004), Scope Award for Best Chief Executive and Gold Plaque from Prime Minister of India (2003), National Metallurgist Award (2003), Padmashree (2001), Dr.Ambedkar Bharath Shree Award (2001), Rashtriya Ratna Award (2001), Swadeshi Science Puraskara (2000), Indira Gandhi Priyadarshini Award (1997), Omprakash Bhasin Award for Aerospace (1996), Vasvik Research Award (1992), National Award for R&D (1991), FIE Foundation Award (1991), National Aeronautical Prize (1990), National Award for Best Employer of Physically Handicapped (1989), Birla Gold Medal (1988).